Executive Team

The Executive Team is responsible for the day-to-day activities of the organisation. The Team implements decisions of the General Assembly and the Board and provides proposals for future development to the governing bodies.


Dr. Olena Carbou


Dr. Olena Carbou is Executive Director and Co-founder of the Ukrainian Think Tanks Liaison Office in Brussels. Prior to this, she worked at the Council of Europe (2013); Anti-Discrimination Centre “Memorial” and the “Sova” Center (representation in Brussels (2012)); EU-Russia Centre in Brussels (2008 – 2011); Razumkov Centre in Kyiv (2006-2007); National Academy of Public Administration under the President of Ukraine (2005 – 2010); Centre for Peace, Conversion and Foreign Policy of Ukraine (2005 – 2006); Friedrich-Ebert-Foundation, Regional Office to Ukraine, Belarus, and Moldova in Kyiv (2003) and the Institute of International Relations of  Kyiv Taras Shevchenko National University (2001-2002). For the last 13 years she is a co-author of Chapter „Ukraine“ in the Freedom House publication „Nations in Transit“. She obtained her PhD in Political Sciences from the Institute of International Relations of Kyiv Taras Shevchenko National University (Ukraine), and her LL.M. in European Law from the Europa-Institut, University of Saarland, Saarbrücken, Germany.

Contact: olena.carbou@ukraine-office.eu



Yana Saienko


Communication Manager of the Office. In January 2016, Yana acquired master’s degree in International relations at the Mariupol state university. Yana gained her professional experience during the internships at the Ukrainian think tanks Eidos and Institute of World Policy. After successful completion of the internship program she worked at the Institute of World Policy as a junior analyst.

Contact: communication@ukraine-office.eu

Oleksandr Tsurenko


Oleksandr is IT Manager. He provides technical support of the website and other communication products and platforms of the Office.

Contact: admin@ukraine-office.eu